YFZ Central banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys and gals! Im a noob here, but not new to the YFZ. I had one when they first came out in 04 or 05 and sold it about 2 years ago. It was an awesome machine and I had some goodies on it, I just had no place to ride!

Now I own y own place with lots of land to ride on and the ability to trailer it places, so I really want to get another! And of course Im leaning towads the R. But Ive read alot of people arguing about the weight (dry/wet vs. yfz), some people saying that the old YFZ will have the ability to make more power because of no EFI and I guess Im worried about a first year bike, even though my old YFZ was a first year and it was fine.

Can anyone put in some good input on those issues, and especially if you have ridden both bikes stock side by side, whats your thoughts? I guess the weight is the biggest concern out of all of them I think!

Thanks guys!

·
Registered
436 Posts
I've had 2 YFZ's, an LTR, and now the new YFZR. I LOVE my YFZR. I've ridden many bikes - Honda's, Yami's, Zuk's, Kawi's, Hybrids. I was actually very close to buying a Honda many times because I love how those bikes perform on the track. I am happy I went with the new YFZR. I feel that currently I am the fastest I've ever been - on the YFZR, and I've only had it about a month.

The weight shouldn't even be an issue to anyone with this bike. Its light. Mine weighed in at 380lbs wet, with aftermarket wheels/tires, nerfs and pipe. Its got a great power/weight ratio.

I used to like jetting my old YFZ, perfecting the carb. But times have changed. The FI system on this bike seems to be pretty nice. Everything is fairly simple once you get a programmer, you can really dial the machines in nice. Crisp throttle response, no bogs, and no pops.