YFZ Central banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,092 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, after Silver Lake I thought I finally had the whoops down. I was bouncing over long sets of whoops on the YFZ no prob. The whoops their were not relaly deep, but deep enough if you f* up your gonna be hurting. A few times when I was trying I got my back end jumping side to side like a bronco. Anyways I went to a local MX track and they had 2 sets of whoops, The set up I could not just jump over em, their is probly only 6-9. It is not long either set but they are deep, how do you guys go about hitting deep whoops on a quad? I have lots of experience jumping and going big so that does not worry me but whoops I dont have much experience. Do I just nut up floor it and hold on? I want to keep my front end up after I get in I know. Any techniques I could use from any of you guys?

·
Registered
9,372 Posts
NAIL IT and HOLD THE HELL ON........ and if u starts to go to one side...... turn ur wheels that way to correct it.... but do NOT lett of the throttle..... i repeat do NOT :nono .... ull lose ur speed and ull nail one of the faces of the whoops and owwwwwwwwwwwweeeeeeee..... but its mainly just gettin the nut :rock

·
Registered
773 Posts
Whoops are funny... you can roll 'em real slow and be fine. A little quicker and the front comes up. A little quicker and you're coming into the faces of 'em. A little quicker and you're casing and bouncing. A little quicker and they start to smooth out. A little quicker and you don't even notice them.

I'm not real good at 'em on a quad, but I've improved a ton on the bike. The trick (for me at least) is finding the right speed on approach.