YFZ Central banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Premium Member
170 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Starting a thread so we can share our experience leading up to race. Baja 400/500/1000 on hold until we/I get more experience stateside.

BITD Vegas to Reno entry fee paid and we are # 499

The race is mid August and planning has been going on since February because I am new to this. All I can say, if all goes well, next year will be so much easier AND cheaper. I would like to do multiple events next year, we'll see how this one goes.

Silsby has been a great help along with many on these forums.

Thanks!

MX

·
Registered
648 Posts
Ready to get out there and breathe some silt! Can’t wait to get into a serious distance race and see how it goes.

·
Registered
648 Posts
I live and train in Miami so not expecting to be too caught up in the heat.

·
Registered
1,252 Posts
Stay hydrated leading up to the race !!! And during the race.

·
Premium Member
170 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Thanks guys. This thread will be a bit boring for a couple weeks. Later this month is when I should be able to start posting photos. I will try to get a list of parts going, I suppose that is kind of fun. All the typical things you guys know about.
What's probably more interesting is the logistics and stats and what's in our backpack besides fluid bladder.
Anyone feel like doing some precise fuel testing? I am trying to figure out miles per ounce of fuel at fairly wide open throttle.

·
Premium Member
170 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Actually, I will get gift certificates for a couple members who do fuel testing. Let me know if any of you want to do us a favor. For once, we will finally have a fairly well averaged fuel consumption number.

·
Registered
156 Posts
I’m definitely tuned in on this!!!
Guys done desert xc before?
Where you located?
I ride Johnson valley (open desert) often.

·
Premium Member
170 Posts
Discussion Starter #12 (Edited)
I’m definitely tuned in on this!!!
Guys done desert xc before?