YFZ Central banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,978 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am putting in a YZ450f exhaust cam from a dirtbike. there are 2 marks on the cam gear... and need to know which to line up... does the one on the left need to be flush with the head. or does the mark on the top need to be straight up and down.

this is my first time working with the yz450f cam....
the timing marks are different on it that on the yfz450 cam.

·
Registered
5,829 Posts
The one on the left needs to line up with the head.
The other dot will be at about the 12 o'clock position.

·
Premium Member
2,978 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well... thats what i thought.... but....

when the one on the left is lined up with the head the one at the top will be at about 11 o clock... they dont make a right angle like i thought they did... thats why i didnt worry about it, until now when i went to put it together.

·
Registered
321 Posts
Id like to know the answer to this question as well ,,,,,,,,as i was going to order a cam in the VERY NEAR future,,,,,,, :sup

·
Premium Member
2,978 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
yeah... me too... i have the motor in front of me trying to get it done tonight... dont have a clue at this point.

·
Premium Member
2,978 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
yeah.. i have both cams here... but the yz450 timing marks are different than the yfz... so thats why im not sure here.

·
Registered
121 Posts
AS long as the timing marks line up with the top of the head you are ok. I had the same question when I installed the yz cam. You are good if the timming marks line up with the head and the other one looks like it is a 11.

·
Registered
194 Posts
Put the timing mark on the left side even with the head.
The other mark will be at about the 11:00 o'clock position.
And the cam lobes of the exhaust cam and intake cam will be pointing AWAY from each other.