YFZ Central banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've only have my quad for about a month & don't know much about what mainenance should be done after each ride.

Each ride will only consist of a few hours (Maybe 5 hours) and i will always wash my quad & clean the air filter before putting it away. What sort of maintenance should i do before putting it away? oil/lube any parts? what sort of lube/oil? etc etc.

Like i said, i'm new to the quad riding & owning "family" so any and ALL pointers that will pro-long the life of my quad will be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
8 Posts
I asked the same question not too long ago, here's what I do to my bike.

- Oil and oil filter changed every 20 hours ( every weekend usually, Yamalube amsoil or royalpurple all same )
- Clean air filter after every ride ( Uni filter oil )
- Lube chain after every ride ( I use PJ1 Chain Lube or wd40 )
- Check/adjust chain tension after every ride
- Check fluid levels coolant, brake, oil
- Check bolts to make sure tight i.e. lug nuts, axle nuts, steering column, handle bar mounts etc etc
- Check tire pressure ( I run 6 lbs )
- Lube grease nipples on A-arms
- Fill it up with supreme gas

I might be forgetting something, but thats a start.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
MooseLight, Thanks!

That's exactly what i wanted... i'm going to make a "log/list" of the maintenance done, hours ridden.

I'm going to make a sort of checklist so that i won't miss anything, and i'll know the dates i did it, how many hours i rode for during that last ride & that way i know my quad will be in the best shape possible.

If anybody has anymore suggestions, please chime in.

·
Registered
37 Posts
QUOTE (mooselight8 @ Feb 17 2009, 04:05 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=747548
friday night, saturday night, sunday day run .. sometimes wednesday night
not all constant biking though, bike for a bit then stop for beer[/b]