YFZ Central banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2006 YFZ450
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. Been lurking a while but I finally decided to make an account and share this definitely fun, not at all frustrating experience.

I've got a 2006 YFZ450 that had the top end go kaboom on me a few weeks back. Best guess of what happened was an overheat scenario likely caused from a mix of poor cooling flow and lean top end (it's been pretty damn hot here in Utah).

So I decide that since the OEM cylinder is ovaled pretty hard and the piston is definitely shot, might as well go big bore. Bought the Athena 98mm (480cc) kit and a boyensen hi-flow water pump. Everything went pretty smooth on the install. I'm a motorsports mechanic professionally, so I've got all the tools and experience to do this right. I made sure everything was torqued properly, made triple sure cam timing was good to go (cam mod, too), valve clearance, etc. Fire up and start doing the first heat cycle per the service manual and Athena's recommendations (which is to follow Yamaha's engine break-in procedure). Did all that and moved on to carb tuning (which was a large part of me lurking this forum, if I'm being totally honest). Got the pilot circuit figured out, moved on to needle position.

Went to start up with the new needle position fixed and it rolled halfway before I heard a bang. A loud one. Not a backfire or afterburn, either. Something internal. Killed power, popped the spark plug out, popped the crank bolt cover and tried to roll it by hand.

The piston was seized near BDC on the down stroke.