Newbie- Oil Level Check - Yamaha YFZ450 Forum : YFZ450, YFZ450R, YFZ450X Forums
  Yamaha YFZ450

Suzuki Z400

Suzuki LT-R450

Kawasaki KFX450

ATV Videos

Can-Am DS450

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-16-2010, 08:19 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Newbie- Oil Level Check

Hey guys, newbie here from Virginia. Just bought an 06 yesterday and had some questions about a few things. I don't exactly know what principles the oil system works off of or how it does. Is it considered a dry sump or wet sump? What would be the proper way to check the oil level? Is it just a pull ur dipstick in ur external tank, or is there a warmup process and check it with engine running? Any comments are helpful also as to what type / brand of oil you guys are running. Thanks for the input.

Mark
YFZ12E is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-16-2010, 08:57 AM   #2 (permalink)

To check the oil level you simply pull the dip stick from the external tank mounted in the front. I cant say i ever check mine as i change my oil every 2 hrs. But when i change in i let it warm up then drain it then add a quart to the tank and a bit to the crank case and start it to let the engine suck the oil in. Then i add more to the tank and check the level. All in all i use almost 2 qts everytime i change it. I never fill the tank to full, just a little less than full on the dip stick.
xcquad03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 09:32 AM   #3 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xcquad03 View Post