Question on which Vortex map to run and what settings - Yamaha YFZ450 Forum : YFZ450, YFZ450R, YFZ450X Forums
 10Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 48 (permalink) Old 08-15-2016, 08:12 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ferrarijody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 308
Question on which Vortex map to run and what settings

Hello,

Ok so now that i added a Yoshimura exhaust, i checked my current air / fuel ratio and it is super lean. 20 / 1

What map should i run and what settings to get it back to 12 to 1?

I want to stick with the stock rev limit, i dont want to over rev it.

My mods are open air box and RS - 2 exhaust.

I am at 741 above sea level.

Thank you,

jody
ferrarijody is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 48 (permalink) Old 08-15-2016, 08:15 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ferrarijody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 308
I was running map 1 with low - 5, mid - 5, and high - 4 with stock exhaust with sparky in and open airbox

Thank you,
jody
ferrarijody is online now  
post #3 of 48 (permalink) Old 08-15-2016, 08:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 448
I've said it before and i'll say it again. Unless your on a dyno you cannot tune it properly. Trying without is just wasted effort. A motor will never run the same just free reving it versus being under load on a dyno.


Also talking to Richard at vortex myself and seeing every ones settings on here, there is no way the vortex is that lean on 5, 5, 5 map one. I'm at 2300ft. I have a very similar airbox pipe setup. Mine tuned in on map 5 5,5,4.
kilroy likes this.
yfzwasted is offline  
post #4 of 48 (permalink) Old 08-15-2016, 09:00 PM
Police Patrol
 
kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 2,804
Garage
If your at sea level...map 9, L7,M7, H5


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kilroy is online now  
post #5 of 48 (permalink) Old 08-15-2016, 09:25 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ferrarijody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 308
Thank you Kilroy and YFZwasted.

With mine on map 1, 5-5-5 my exhaust header was as red a molten metal.

I think we need to check what vortex version people have as well as map and settings.
ferrarijody is online now  
post #6 of 48 (permalink) Old 08-15-2016, 10:06 PM
Police Patrol
 
kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 2,804
Garage

ferrarijody your using the wrong map!
Two your flowing way more air so you need more fuel to cool things down.

You use my settings it will work your settings your on your own...lol..map 9, l7, m7, h2 came from fox's dynoed 3 mod bike at sea level at OCP....Your better off using these numbers then being to lean until you can have your bike dynoed. Almost all the three mod bikes I've seen are on map 5 or 9. I have 121 hours on map 9 and my bike runs flawlessly.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by kilroy; 08-15-2016 at 10:11 PM.
kilroy is online now  
post #7 of 48 (permalink) Old 08-15-2016, 10:39 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ferrarijody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 308
Hello Kilroy,

Ok for map 5, what setting are they using at sea level? Im a little afraid to run map 9 with the higher rev limit.

So just to confirm, map 5 the description is(fuel map 3 GYTR motor with pipe and filter)

Here is a scan of my vortex sheet for reference.

Thank you,
jody
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	vortex.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	64.8 KB
ID:	78505  
ferrarijody is online now  
post #8 of 48 (permalink) Old 08-15-2016, 10:55 PM
Moderator
 
dust n' u's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,956
I think people read way too much into the higher rev limit, unless you're bumping the limiter all the time...

2006 SE-DASA Classic Full System,FCI, Cam mod, OCP ported head and 42.5mm carb, Houser +2 stem, Flexx Bars 12* ATV Bend, Fox Floats.
53HP All OEM Engine parts on Pump Gas


Jetting Specs: 42p- 215m-4th clip NCVQ 2.0 out, 0-500'.

2006 SE yfz450 -Son's-He Thinks

2011 Raptor 250 - Wife's - She Thinks

"Sorry is for criminals and screw ups and I'm neither"


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dust n' u is offline  
post #9 of 48 (permalink) Old 08-15-2016, 11:47 PM
Police Patrol
 
kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 2,804
Garage
ferrarijody,

Please forget the instructions...I know more than the shitty instructions...LOL....Set your Vortex to Map 9, L7, M7, H 5.....You may be rich however, you won't be lean. This will work well enough until you get to a dyno. I have 121 hours on mine with zero problems don't worry about the rev limit.

Try this first before replying to this and let me know how it performs. Like I said in the above post these are the settings from Fox's 3 mod bike that was dyno tuned at OCP in Oregon. Fox's settings are Map9, L7, M7, H2.


5,5,5'S on a three mod bike at sea level will be lean.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by kilroy; 08-16-2016 at 01:53 AM.
kilroy is online now  
post #10 of 48 (permalink) Old 08-16-2016, 12:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 448
Ferrarijordy, Why don't you just listen to all the info being given here for once.
It would save you lot of time and headaches. instead of doing things like buying that sound meter and now an exhaust probe.
yfzwasted is offline  
post #11 of 48 (permalink) Old 08-16-2016, 01:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Sheerider11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by dust n' u View Post
I think people read way too much into the higher rev limit, unless you're bumping the limiter all the time...
F that rev limiter. My bike is bouncing that thing all the time.
I see pros do it all the time. People hear me coming when I'm doing that. I may not make it there quick, but it sure sounds cool until I do.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
PWeeZy42 likes this.
Sheerider11 is offline  
post #12 of 48 (permalink) Old 08-16-2016, 08:20 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ferrarijody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 308
Hello Kilroy,

I set my vortex at map 9, low - 7, mid - 7, and high - 5 and it is still at 20 - 1

I called Duncan Racing today and im going to send my vortex in to be tested.

Here is a video i shot today while testing it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FLApEWwaL4I

Thank you for all the advice.

jody
ferrarijody is online now  
post #13 of 48 (permalink) Old 08-16-2016, 08:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 60
Garage
im on map 6, same as map 5 but a little richer, i had mine dyno tuned as well but cant remember the l m h settings, ill check and get back to you
zafer is online now  
post #14 of 48 (permalink) Old 08-17-2016, 02:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Sheerider11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,420
Wait.
Where is the probe?
Did you try M-9 555 for the hell of it?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
Sheerider11 is offline  
post #15 of 48 (permalink) Old 08-17-2016, 02:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Sheerider11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheerider11 View Post
Wait.
Where is the probe?
Did you try M-9 555 for the hell of it?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
Also did you confirm that the meter is working?
I've seen those cheap ones read all over the place. Also if your not close to the header I bet it will always read rich. There to much push and pull in the can. I would think that there's stagnant exhaust in the silencer/end of pipe. By the header there's more flow.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
Sheerider11 is offline  
post #16 of 48 (permalink) Old 08-17-2016, 09:00 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ferrarijody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 308
Hello Sheerider11,

Current setting is map 9, low - 7, mid - 7, high - 5 and its still 22 - 1

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FLApEWwaL4I

Yes i calibrated my air flow gauge before i used it. The sensor is in a jig i made that slides into the exhaust end.

My gauge is not a cheap one, its an Innovate wide band. Here is a link

MTX-L Wideband O2 Digital Air/fuel Ratio Gauge

Thank you,
jody
ferrarijody is online now  
post #17 of 48 (permalink) Old 08-17-2016, 09:48 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ferrarijody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 308
Has anyone had their Vortex stuck on a certain setting? If you disconnect the battery will it drop the current settings?

The guy at Duncan Racing says no.

Just curious if anyone else had a similar issue

Thank you,
jody
ferrarijody is online now  
post #18 of 48 (permalink) Old 08-17-2016, 11:17 AM
Police Patrol
 
kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 2,804
Garage
ferrarijody

If the meter is correct you need to verify that your tps is set properly!! I absolutely guarantee that your Vortex is fine....Have the dealer check your TPS!


Is your exhaust red on my settings? Is it poping when you rev it? Is it running cooler? Are you running clean/good 91+ octane fuel? Is your pipe bright red while idling or riding? Ride it around for 5 minutes and make a mental note of what it is doing wrong and post here.....

If I were you I would forget the meter.........Adjust your TPS and get to a dyno....You will be wasting your time sending your Vortex back.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by kilroy; 08-17-2016 at 11:23 AM.
kilroy is online now  
post #19 of 48 (permalink) Old 08-17-2016, 11:19 AM
Police Patrol
 
kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 2,804
Garage
Yfzwasted is correct!

"I've said it before and i'll say it again. Unless your on a dyno you cannot tune it properly. Trying without is just wasted effort. A motor will never run the same just free reving it versus being under load on a dyno."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kilroy is online now  
post #20 of 48 (permalink) Old 08-17-2016, 02:27 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ferrarijody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 308
I think i have an exhaust leak at the header, i am going to reinstall the exhaust tonight and see if it will fix it
kilroy likes this.
ferrarijody is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Yamaha YFZ450 Forum : YFZ450, YFZ450R, YFZ450X Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome