YFZ450R top speed - Yamaha YFZ450 Forum : YFZ450, YFZ450R, YFZ450X Forums
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By yfzwasted
  • 1 Post By yfzwasted
  • 1 Post By kilroy
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-03-2016, 04:26 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ferrarijody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 317
YFZ450R top speed

Hi,

Im just curious what the top speed is for a stock 2016 yfz450R. I have read its like 72, but i just had mine out on a clear stretch and my vapor reads only 52 in 5 gear at 4000 rpms. Will it really pick up 20 more mph if you rev it all the way to redline?

I was just curious i would think it would hit 60 quicker but it does not seem like it.

Thank you,
jody
ferrarijody is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-03-2016, 09:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 450
Yah, top speed is in the low 70's Unless you spend big money and change the power curve to put the power even higher into the revs (which you do not want) Your top speed is pretty much set within a mile or two. You can get there faster but increasing it is hard to do and not worth it. Your quad should do 70-72ish around 9500 rpm according to my tests and the online gearing/speed calculator. Anything more than that it doesn't have the power.
kilroy likes this.
yfzwasted is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-03-2016, 10:05 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ferrarijody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 317
Thank you that makes sense. I was just wondering. I dont need to go faster : )
ferrarijody is offline  
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-03-2016, 10:48 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ferrarijody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 317
Just curious what would the top speed be with a 15 tooth front sprocket? Is thst good for 5 more mph?
ferrarijody is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-04-2016, 02:20 AM
Senior Member
 
yama527's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 204
Have u unhooked your speed limiter or do u have a msd or vortex? Your check engine light will come on. Its on the back side of motor by the clutch cable mount.

13' yfz450r
Gyt-r head/cams, slhg mod, PcV, Dasa shorty,
Factory43 propegs and bumper, Hardkor hubs,
Walsh a-arms, stem and 6-point, Pep Pb1
Precision, FTR graphics
yama527 is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-04-2016, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 450
yfzwasted is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-04-2016, 02:25 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ferrarijody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 317
Hello yama527,

i have a vortex on it, will that remove the speed limit?

Thank you yfzwasted that article was very interesting

Thank you,
jody
ferrarijody is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-05-2016, 11:46 AM
Senior Member
 
yama527's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 204
I know msd it can be turned off, not sure about the vortex. I would expect it to tho for the money lol. Id say reach under there and unplug it for a test run!

13' yfz450r
Gyt-r head/cams, slhg mod, PcV, Dasa shorty,
Factory43 propegs and bumper, Hardkor hubs,
Walsh a-arms, stem and 6-point, Pep Pb1
Precision, FTR graphics
yama527 is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-05-2016, 02:48 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ferrarijody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 317
i will check it out thank you
ferrarijody is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-05-2016, 03:30 PM
Police Patrol
 
kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 2,818
Garage
My R with Vortex map9 was significantly faster over my OEM ecu.....No GPS to confirm it though...:(
ferrarijody likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kilroy is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-05-2016, 04:25 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ferrarijody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 317
Hello Kilroy

Oh that makes sense. I have my vortex set at map 2 tractionable just until i break the motor in. I wonder if the speed is governed on this mode.

Take care,
Jody
ferrarijody is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old Today, 02:04 AM
Senior Member
 
klb1989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferrarijody View Post
Hello Kilroy

Oh that makes sense. I have my vortex set at map 2 tractionable just until i break the motor in. I wonder if the speed is governed on this mode.

Take care,
Jody

Either way u have to unplug the speed sensor im pretty sure

14 yfzr se
klb1989 is online now  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old Today, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
badassmachinist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: MICHIGAN
Posts: 295
Garage
does a stock 2012 ecu have a speed limiter on it?

2012 YFZ450R
badassmachinist is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old Today, 11:14 AM
Police Patrol
 
kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 2,818
Garage
My guess...yes.....The sensor is down by your clutch cable and your front sprocket...it's round.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kilroy is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old Today, 01:11 PM
Senior Member
 
badassmachinist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: MICHIGAN
Posts: 295
Garage
so its has nothing to do with RPM just your mph speed, safety for the stock tires?

2012 YFZ450R
badassmachinist is offline  
post #16 of 16 (permalink) Old Today, 08:53 PM
Senior Member
 
klb1989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 615
From what i read (at least on raptors forsure) it retards timing in 5th gear and you lose about 8 mph . It reads off the trans i would assume.

Id have to think the vortex has this disabled and it can definitely be disabled if you have software for stock ecu. I cant speak on the msd but power commander doesnt have a disable option for this

14 yfzr se
klb1989 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Yamaha YFZ450 Forum : YFZ450, YFZ450R, YFZ450X Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome