2004 yfz 450 no spark - Yamaha YFZ450 Forum : YFZ450, YFZ450R, YFZ450X Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-18-2012, 03:19 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
2004 yfz 450 no spark

i have 2004 yfz 450. pretty new to sport. was installing tether kill switch. while testing wires with spark plug out to find signal wire found signal wire. put sparkplug back in put coil pack back on. now has no spark. anybody have ideas.
stens74 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-18-2012, 04:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cape May County,New Jersey
Posts: 459
Send a message via Yahoo to kingchronicracing
Did you blow a fuse?

2005 YFZ 468 - Extremely Healthy

2005 YFZ 450 - Very Healthy
kingchronicracing is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-18-2012, 05:55 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
fuses are good. all plugs are connected. i double and triplle checked all plugs this morning just to make sure.
stens74 is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-18-2012, 09:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Bowtie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 432
Are you using an open or closed circuit tether? And why didn't you go to the stator?

09 YFZ450R SE - 08 Intake Cam - Fasst Flexx Bars- ASV Shorty Levers - MSD Blaster - HiPer Tech 3's - FCI - Dasa Classic
Bowtie is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-18-2012, 11:02 PM
Senior Member
 
SeniorTaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Charleston, South Carolina
Posts: 3,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by bowtie View Post
Are you using an open or closed circuit tether? And why didn't you go to the stator?
X2. And yes the stator is best.

Don't get caught up in everyone's drama. Do things and make your move based on what feels right to you.
SeniorTaco is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-19-2012, 01:35 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
I don't have the tether switch even hooked up. I think I might have messed something up while testing for the right write to hook to. What could I have done while testing for the right wire to hook to. And how can I test the stater, and the computer.
stens74 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Yamaha YFZ450 Forum : YFZ450, YFZ450R, YFZ450X Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome