Fci worth the cost? - Yamaha YFZ450 Forum : YFZ450, YFZ450R, YFZ450X Forums
 10Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 53 (permalink) Old 01-07-2017, 09:17 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 32
Fci worth the cost?

Picked up a carbd 08 last year for my son and have slowly done the cam mod, zip tie mod, 2 brothers pipe, gytr jet/needle, and currently open box with uni filter.

Finally charged the PayPal account a little and looking to blow that cash on fleabay! Sand only bike, nut up for the fci or can I run an effective cheaper set up? Thanks, dad. Lol.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
dejake.hurley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 53 (permalink) Old 01-07-2017, 09:32 PM
Senior Member
 
BobPeabody67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Northwestern Indiana
Posts: 530
Quote:
Originally Posted by dejake.hurley View Post
Picked up a carbd 08 last year for my son and have slowly done the cam mod, zip tie mod, 2 brothers pipe, gytr jet/needle, and currently open box with uni filter.

Finally charged the PayPal account a little and looking to blow that cash on fleabay! Sand only bike, nut up for the fci or can I run an effective cheaper set up? Thanks, dad. Lol.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
I just bought a FCI for my YFZR. You can run other rigs, but imo, FCI will win everytime. Their airbox sucks as many have mentioned here, but I don't really see a need for a airbox if you already run with the lid off.

Also, I'd buy from TQS (site sponsor). That's where I just ordered mine from. They sell FCI's a lot cheaper than everywhere else I've seen.[ThumbsUp]

2016 Yamaha YFZ450R SE
2009 Yamaha YFZ450R SE
2007 Yamaha YFZ450 SE (SOLD!)
2002 Yamaha Raptor 660R SE
2003 Yamaha YZ250F
2006 Suzuki RMZ250 (SOLD!)
1993 Suzuki LT230E
2003 Polaris Trailblazer 250
BobPeabody67 is offline  
post #3 of 53 (permalink) Old 01-08-2017, 11:55 AM
Police Patrol
 
kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 2,981
Garage
I would like to see a Robl intake verse FCI dyno sheet on the same bike. Both with airbox.......just for curiosity! I'm not against either brand... ;)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by kilroy; 01-09-2017 at 02:11 PM.
kilroy is online now  
 
post #4 of 53 (permalink) Old 01-08-2017, 11:58 AM
Moderator
 
dust n' u's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,971
FCI on the carbed bikes are great.

2006 SE-DASA Classic Full System,FCI, Cam mod, OCP ported head and 42.5mm carb, Houser +2 stem, Flexx Bars 12* ATV Bend, Fox Floats.
53HP All OEM Engine parts on Pump Gas


Jetting Specs: 42p- 215m-4th clip NCVQ 2.0 out, 0-500'.

2006 SE yfz450 -Son's-He Thinks

2011 Raptor 250 - Wife's - She Thinks

"Sorry is for criminals and screw ups and I'm neither"


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dust n' u is offline  
post #5 of 53 (permalink) Old 01-08-2017, 12:21 PM
Police Patrol
 
kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 2,981
Garage
Lol...since I can't read...LOL....for me that would be for the R...LOL....Over stock yes hands down better! ;)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kilroy is online now  
post #6 of 53 (permalink) Old 01-08-2017, 03:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 463
For a setup like yours no its not worth it. For more then double the price of a pro design intake the fci will only gain another hp. If you were going to start porting and boring the carb then its worth it. Save the money and use it for parts and gas.
yfzwasted is offline  
post #7 of 53 (permalink) Old 01-08-2017, 07:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Sheerider11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilroy View Post
I would like to see a Robl intake verse FCI dyno sheet on the same bike. Both with airbox.......
Good luck.
He's another one that I couldn't get through to.
We had great communication up until it came time to actually purchase.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
Sheerider11 is online now  
post #8 of 53 (permalink) Old 01-08-2017, 09:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheerider11 View Post
good luck.
He's another one that i couldn't get through to.
We had great communication up until it came time to actually purchase.

Sent from my samsung-sm-g890a using tapatalk
fci ?
onequikz is offline  
post #9 of 53 (permalink) Old 01-08-2017, 09:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Sheerider11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by onequikz View Post
fci ?
No robl.
I talked to him for about 2 months going over the intake and what I needed and wanted.
Offered to take him pics of the install, set up, ride, review.
He was moving shops and was in the process of getting them made. A week turned into 2 months of him delaying.
Which sucks, because I really wanted to run his intake.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
Sheerider11 is online now  
post #10 of 53 (permalink) Old 01-09-2017, 10:03 AM
Moderator
 
dust n' u's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,971
Sand sucks HP so every one gained helps.

2006 SE-DASA Classic Full System,FCI, Cam mod, OCP ported head and 42.5mm carb, Houser +2 stem, Flexx Bars 12* ATV Bend, Fox Floats.
53HP All OEM Engine parts on Pump Gas


Jetting Specs: 42p- 215m-4th clip NCVQ 2.0 out, 0-500'.

2006 SE yfz450 -Son's-He Thinks

2011 Raptor 250 - Wife's - She Thinks

"Sorry is for criminals and screw ups and I'm neither"


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dust n' u is offline  
post #11 of 53 (permalink) Old 01-09-2017, 10:47 AM
Senior Member
 
ldjbuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Star, Idaho
Posts: 2,553
FCI. We have dyno many others, You will pic up a solid 2 hp over your current set up with an FCI


TQSATV.com has the best prices and they take PayPal

FCI Intake Kit, Intake Tech Quad Shop @ TQSATV.COM
kilroy likes this.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



MMAD, OCP, FCI, OI

ldjbuff is offline  
post #12 of 53 (permalink) Old 01-09-2017, 10:49 AM
Senior Member
 
ferrarijody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 324
Can you use the stock oil breather set up with the FCI?
ferrarijody is offline  
post #13 of 53 (permalink) Old 01-09-2017, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheerider11 View Post
No robl.
I talked to him for about 2 months going over the intake and what I needed and wanted.
Offered to take him pics of the install, set up, ride, review.
He was moving shops and was in the process of getting them made. A week turned into 2 months of him delaying.
Which sucks, because I really wanted to run his intake.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
Gotcha
onequikz is offline  
post #14 of 53 (permalink) Old 01-09-2017, 11:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 957
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferrarijody View Post
Can you use the stock oil breather set up with the FCI?
No, I just took mine off. Have not been running a breather box for over a year with no issues.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cr_thirty is offline  
post #15 of 53 (permalink) Old 01-09-2017, 11:50 AM
Police Patrol
 
kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 2,981
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferrarijody View Post
Can you use the stock oil breather set up with the FCI?
Yes however, you will have to mount your breather to the FCI box. You can delete your breather however, you will have to watch your oil level more closely.
PWeeZy42 likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kilroy is online now  
post #16 of 53 (permalink) Old 01-09-2017, 12:35 PM
Senior Member
 
ferrarijody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 324
what if you just plugged the hole? will that work? or you need some venting?

what about a k and n crank case filter like this?

K&N 62-1600BL Vent Air Filter, Crankcase Vent Filters

would that work?

thank you,
jody
ferrarijody is offline  
post #17 of 53 (permalink) Old 01-09-2017, 01:23 PM
Senior Member
 
ldjbuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Star, Idaho
Posts: 2,553
Yeah you can use those tiny K &N's. We just kinda "T" ours off and run the breather to the ground. You can do the same mod to a YFZR and YFZ as the link below shows. Mine is the same way and I have a carb bike with an FCI

Vent Line Re-routing.....
kilroy likes this.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



MMAD, OCP, FCI, OI

ldjbuff is offline  
post #18 of 53 (permalink) Old 01-09-2017, 01:32 PM
Senior Member
 
PWeeZy42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Old Forge, PA
Posts: 473
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferrarijody View Post
Can you use the stock oil breather set up with the FCI?
I just drilled it to the side of the FCI box and used a little silicone to close the gap. there are a few good threads on here of different ways to set it up.
kilroy and ferrarijody like this.

2014 yfz450R SE black/crimson
Full Barkers
Vortex
FCI w/Box
AIS Delete
PRM full skids
PWeeZy42 is offline  
post #19 of 53 (permalink) Old 01-09-2017, 02:29 PM
Police Patrol
 
kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 2,981
Garage
Don't forget all the MX bikes run straight to the ground....no filters, T's, etc.

You might go to your local dealer and look at how they are routed for help.. ;)
cr_thirty likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kilroy is online now  
post #20 of 53 (permalink) Old 01-09-2017, 03:36 PM
Senior Member
 
ferrarijody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 324
Thank you for all the great info everyone

As soon as it warms up im going to start wrenching. Just trying to get all my ducks in a row :)

jody
kilroy likes this.
ferrarijody is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Yamaha YFZ450 Forum : YFZ450, YFZ450R, YFZ450X Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome